Arizona Digital Free Press - Logo

Shoeleather Journalism in the Digital Age

Shoeleather Journalism
in the Digital Age

Center for the Future of Arizona seeks nominations for the 2023 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards

Center for the Future of Arizona President and CEO Sybil Francis. (File Photos/

Gabe Zimmerman award salutes civic leadership this July in Tucson

Staff Reports | Digital Free Press

Center for the Future of Arizona has opened the nomination window for the 2023 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, an annual recognition of the important work being done by dedicated, non-elected public servants across the state.

Award recipients will be honored during the summer conference for the Arizona City/County Management Association in Tucson in July.

The Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, named after the community outreach director who lost his life at a “Congress on Your Corner” event for Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, is a cooperative effort between CFA, the Zimmerman family, and ACMA to highlight the contributions public servants make to the communities they serve. Award recipients are honored in three categories:

  • Community Builder Award (Large City/Town & Small City/Town). Recognizes leaders who have been instrumental in advancing community pride and connectedness.
  • Emerging Leader Award. Recognizes early-stage leaders who serve as role models for improving civic health and community connections among constituents.
  • Civic Leader Award. Recognizes exceptional civic leaders who have committed most of their careers to supporting local communities and addressing the state’s long-term challenges.

As an organization that understands the vital importance of civic engagement and leadership in achieving a brighter future for Arizona, CFA deeply appreciates the opportunity to learn about and recognize the great work being done by public servants across the state’s diverse communities with this annual recognition.

Public servants who are eligible for the awards include those who are employed by cities and towns, counties, special districts, agencies of the executive and legislative branches of state government, tribal governments, and personal staff working for members of Arizona’s congressional delegation.

The deadline to submit nominations HERE is Friday, April 21. All nominations will be reviewed by the statewide awards selection committee, and selected recipients will be notified in June. The awards will be presented during a luncheon on July 13 at the ACMA Summer Conference in Tucson. Awardees and their nominators will be encouraged to attend. Luncheon sponsorship opportunities are available.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category Sponsor

Learn About the Author

Category Sponsor

Lisa Borowsky - Ad

Newsletter Sign Up

Scottsdale Daily Beat - Logo

Could we interest you in Local News That Matters? How about Enterprise Business Reporting & Free Press Philanthropy?

Mountain Shadows 2
SCC Display
WK-OktoberWest-2023-1080x1080 (3)


Paradise Valley